Webinars

These announcements were posted on the BHIC Blog

Engaging Ethnic Communities Through New Media Webinar
Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010
8:00 AM (HT), 11:00 AM (PT), 1:00 PM (CT), 2:00 PM (ET)
According to a 2009 Pew Research Center study, 61% of American adults look online for health information, with Latinos becoming the quickest growing users among this population. So how does one successfully reach and engage their limited English proficiency (LEP) audiences through video, social and new media? Our second webinar in our 2010 Healthcare Trends Series will show real examples of how localized multimedia is being used today in healthcare to educate ethnic and LEP communities. In addition, participants will receive a summary of limitations and tradeoffs to using multimedia, as well as examples and concrete tips to get started. This webinar will provide insights and lessons that can be leveraged in any organization. Reserve your Webinar seat now at:
https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/265699562 [viaLanguage http://www.vialanguage.com/]

Creating and Sustaining a Culturally Responsive Health Care Organization
https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/605871995
Monday, May 24, 2010 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM EDT
Many health care organizations are trying to create an environment that naturally fosters cultural sensitivity and responsiveness. How do health care organizations bring cultural responsiveness to the level of ‘normal’ within the organization? What are some innovative ways to establish and support cultural responsiveness in an organization?

This webinar features representatives from four health care organizations around the country who will share approaches used in their organizations to create this environment. They will discuss the successes and challenges associated with these strategies, talk about practical advice for replication, and engage with each other and the audience to identify other practices, resources, references and ideas that can be used to create an organizational that naturally supports cultural responsiveness.
[note one of the speakers is BHIC blog reader M. Grace Vega, Language Services Coordinator , University of Missouri Health Care
Columbia, MO

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Culturally Competent Care, Ethnic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s